Fictional Fever Week: Day 1 | Ava’s Favorite LGBTQ+ Romances!

fictional-fever-week

Welcome to day 1 of Fictional Fever Week at Fiery Reads! Yesterday, I posted the schedule for the event, which you can find here if you’re interested. Our first guest blogger of the week is Ava, and she’s sharing her favorite LGBTQ+ romances with us!

Meet the Author

Blog | Twitter | InstagramGoodreads

Hello! My name is Ava, and I’m the blogger at Bookishness and Tea. I currently reside in northern California, and am a teenager who (quite obviously) adores books. Besides books, music is my everything, and is something I could not live without. I enjoy social media, and love that it allows me to meet people worldwide who share a love of books. I’m an advocate for diversity and an intersectional feminist, and love reading books that feature characters different and like me, by authors of color, LGBTQIAP+, neurodiverse, and disabled authors. (note from alex: she’s the greatest <3)

new-divider

Favorite LGBTQ+ Romances

In Young Adult books, we often see an abundance of heterosexual pairings and romances, so much so that that is the ‘norm’, while LGBTQ+ characters are a surprise. Which is sad. At least the number of LGBTQ+ books is growing; with each year, we see more and more being released.

When Alex asked me to be a part of this project again, I was overjoyed, and knew exactly what kind of post I wanted to do: my favorite LGBTQ+ romances. If you’re looking to read more books with LGBTQ+ characters, keep reading this post!

Cas/Swift from The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie

We see f/f relationships in fantasy quite rarely, and this book is so perfect. It’s about this relationship, yes, but also features a fast-paced and intriguing plot- pirates! sea monsters! What more could you want?

Simon/Blue from Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

This is one of the cutest books you’ll ever read, and the romance between Simon and Blue is just adorable. In the book, the identity of Blue is hidden, and you’ll be guessing until the review who he is.

Jesper/Wylan from Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

This couple. This goddamn couple. I don’t have words to describe how much I love them, but know that they are one of my very favorite parts of this book, and I love everything about this book, so that means a lot.

Rhy/Alucard from A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

You’ll adore these two characters separately for their own reasons, but together…They are so, so perfect, as are these books. I’m hoping that in book three, we’ll see them together even more, because from what we have seen… Well, let me just say there is tension. A lot of it.

Miel/Sam from When The Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore

Beautiful is the only word I can describe this book with. It’s a beautiful story, beautiful portrayal of a transgender boy, with beautiful writing and a beautiful romance. And no, I’m not exaggerating.

Danny/Colton from Timekeeper by Tara Sim

Besides the fact that this relationship is brilliant and really well-done, with two characters that are so different yet you’ll love all the same, this book is unique and incredible too.

Vanessa/Brianna from Under the Lights by Dahlia Adler

This is a couple that you will ship and ship and ship, and that’s all I can say. Just read it.

Achilles/Patroclus from The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

A reimagined telling of Achilles’ story with Achilles and Patroclus being lovers-I adored this book. It’s a beautiful story that will quite possibly leave you crying at the end.

Emma/Savannah from Cherry by Lindsey Rosin

This book features four romances, but this f/f one is, of course, my favorite. You’ll be wanting these characters to kiss from the moment they meet each other, and you’ll have to read to see if they do!

This Valentine’s Day, instead of picking up a book with a romance between cishet characters, I encourage you to think of one of these instead! I promise, they are all absolutely incredible books with adorable romances as well.

giveaway

Today is the day the giveaway officially starts! It’s for a mystery box full of YA romance ARCs, and it is open to US and PR only!
giveaway-button

What are your favorite LGBTQ+ romances? do you share any favorites with Ava? lET US KNOW IN THE COMMENTS BELOW!

2 thoughts on “Fictional Fever Week: Day 1 | Ava’s Favorite LGBTQ+ Romances!

Leave a Reply

