Book Recommendations for the Netflix Lovers

book-recommendations-for-the-netflix-lovers

If you’re anything like me, then you’re just a little obsessed with Netflix. Okay, who am I kidding–I am completely and utterly obsessed with Netflix and I am proud of my life choices. Their original shows are prime examples of good storytelling (or at least the ones I’ve watched). So I thought, why not make some book recommendations based on netflix original shows? And so this blog post was born.

Today I’m going to give you some awesome recommendations based on your favorite netflix shows. Love Stranger Things? Sense8? Jessica Jones? Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt? I’ve come up with recommendations for all these shows and more!

copy-of-looking-back-at-2017

The Crown is one of my favorite Netflix shows ever, and for a good reason. It follows Queen Elizabeth as she first takes the throne of England, and how she deals with conflicting personal and political matters. These book recommendations focus on royalty and queens, politics, and ultimately, the power of kickass girls.

  • The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski
  • Long May She Reign by Rhiannon Thomas
  • A Tyranny of Petticoats edited by Jessica Spotswood

stranger-things

I absolutely adore Stranger Things, and so does nearly everyone else it seems. This show has taken the world by storm with its unique concept. Set in 1980s Indiana, a town is forever changed when Will Byers, a young boy disappears. It seems like a textbook missing person’s case, until strange things start happening in the town. These recommendations focus on books that are weird, mysterious, and a little bit otherworldly, just like the show.

  • Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff
  • Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke  (anything by her tbh)
  • Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma

gilmore-girls

Lots of fans rejoiced at Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life because it is a continuation of the beloved classic, Gilmore Girls. The new continuation/revival focuses on the three generations of Gilmore girls as they go through four seasons. Like the show, these books focus heavily on family (the one your born into or the one you find for yourself), and everything that comes with it–love, heartbreak and complications.

  • The Loose Ends List by Carrie Firestone
  • My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick
  • The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore
  • Cherry by Lindsey Rosin

sense8

Sense8 is one hell of a weird show. It follows a group of 8 people from around the world called a cluster, and they’re able to communicate with each other with their minds. Of course, personal lives and cluster lives start to intersect, because ~drama~ (okay I’m terrible with summaries I apologize, but the show really is good!). There’s not quite anything like this show, in any format, but these books have sprawling casts, mindlinks, and/or a heck of a lot of drama, just like Sense8.

  • What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang
  • Otherbound by Corinne Duyvis
  • Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff (yes, I’m recommending this twice because it’s SO FREAKING GOOD)

 

jessica-jones

My favorite of Marvel’s superhero shows on Netflix, Jessica Jones is iconic. But perhaps superhero isn’t the right word–she’s anything but conventional. She’s a private eye with superpowers who tries to stop the evil Kilgrave from taking control of people’s minds. Trust me, she’s one hell of a woman, and I aspire to be as sarcastic as her. In these books, the women are also extremely badass and strong, and a little unconventional, too. Some have powers, some don’t. If you love Jessica, then you’ll love these girls, too 🙂

  • Dare You To by Katie McGarry
  • This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

luke-cage

I devoured Luke Cage in a handful of days because it was just that good. While JJ remains my favorite of the Marvel bunch, this was an amazing series, with tons of beautiful, cinematic shots and heaps of diversity. Luke Cage is a man with impenetrable skin and super strength, and he uses his powers to protect his hometown of Harlem. Sadly, I’m greatly lacking in recommendations for this series, but I have it on good faith that this book is amazing. Like Luke Cage, it features a setting rich with culture, and a main character who is thrust into a role she could never have imagined.

  • Shadowshapers by Daniel José Older

peaky-blinders

 

Even if you haven’t watched this show, you’d probably recognize the main star–Cillian Murphy, someone who looks like Kaz Brekker, if he was a little bit older. Peaky Blinders is a series focused on a crime family of gangsters in the 1920s, headed by a young man looking to rising up in the world. In these books, there are gangsters, gangs, crime and maybe even a little bit of magic (it wouldn’t be me without some fantasy recs).

  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (this is a no-brainer, guys!)
  • A Criminal Magic by Lee Kelly
  • Iron Cast by Destiny Soria

the-fall

I’m not sure why I’ve never seen The Fall, but after doing some research on it for this post, I’m definitely checking it out. It centers on two different hunters–one is a serial killer, and the other is a homicide detective hired to catch him. These recommendations focus on the two different aspects that the TV show focuses on–the first rec is about someone tracking down a killer, and the second is the killer themselves, and both of them are very, very good.

  • Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco
  • The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis

3

3% is a Brazilian show, and one of the first Netflix shows to be produced in Latin America. My friends LOVE it. The concept goes like this: people are given the chance to go to the “better side”, where there is wealth and happiness, but they first have to escape the “bad side”, where devastation and poverty are rampant. This is a common theme in YA, where characters try to go to a better place, or make it into a special contest. These recommendations focus on character’s trying to go to a good place–or at least, what they believe is a good place.

  • Caraval by Stephanie Garber
  • Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
  • A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

unbreakable-kimmy-schmidt

Last but not least, a good old, comedic contemporary story by 1/2 of the queens themselves, Tina Fey. Kimmy Schmidt is a woman who was rescued from a cult after 15 years. And what does she do after that? She decides to adopt a positive attitude and move to NYC, of course! These books all have bits and pieces of elements from Kimmy Schmidt in them. The first is about a girl who tries to reclaim her life after an atrocious attack. The second is a romance set in NYC. And finally, the last one is a cute contemporary starring a girl with a peppy attitude (and a little bit naive, too).

  • Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnson
  • The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith
  • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han.

new-divider

I hope you enjoyed these recommendations, and hopefully you found a few new books you want to check out! Stay tuned for some more themed recommendations heading your way soon 😉

What is your favorite netflix show? Did you find any new books you’re interested in? Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Book Recommendations for the Netflix Lovers

  1. Kirsty says:

    This is such a great post, it’s a really good idea! You’ve given me so many books to add to by TBR not to mention I’m 100% going to have to watch the fall, it’s about the only one I haven’t on this list but it sounds amazing, I’m a sucker for serial killer shows, they’re fascinating.

    Like

  2. SERIESous Book Reviews says:

    I just finished The Crown last weekend and am having bad withdrawals…I need the next season already!

    But I totally agree with your recs for Jessica Jones. Peaky Blinders sounds like a show I should be watching though…

    Fabulous post idea!

    Like

  3. Aldii says:

    SO many tv shows I like!
    I’m going to talk in order, because I’m an organized person not that I fangirl a lot and might write nonsense things.
    I watched the first episode of The Crown when it came out and…I haven’t watched any other. Usually I love that kind of tv shows but I don’t know why I haven’t continued it. I might try tho.
    I watched Stranger Things and it was really good!
    I’m currently watching Sense8, today I watched episode 10. As you said it’s really weird but I really like it. It has so many important things and I just love it. And I’m definitely checking those book recs!
    Jessica Jones, my favourite Marvel tv show. I couldn’t wait to watch the next episode each time because it was GOOD. Sadly that didn’t happen with others. I watched the first season of Daredevil and really liked it but the second season…I’m stuck in episode 5. With Luke Cage was something a bit different and more like The Crown. I watched the first episode and then stopped but I want to give it an opportunity again.
    The Fall, I watched a few episodes and loved it though again, I need to continue it.
    3% was a show I recently discovered and I only have three episodes left. As a Latin American I have to say I’m very proud. It’s as you said like a YA story. A few days ago I wrote a tv shows reccomendations post (I haven’t made it ‘public’) yet and I mention it with similar words.
    Peaky Blinders I didn’t know about this one but it sounds soo interesting and Six of Crows ♥
    Really loved this post and the idea!

    Like

  4. justanothercreativewriter says:

    I love posts like this! I did one and had so much fun with it so hopefully you did too. I watch so much netflix, so this is the perfect way to mix those hobbies. Plus it works the other way around too, if you like the books you will probably like the shows! I’ll have to check out a bunch of these.

    Like

Leave a Reply

