End of the Year Survey 2016!

2016 is finally coming to a close. I think it’s safe to say that 2016 was a huge dumpster fire for everyone, me included. But I don’t want to focus on the bad parts of the year, I want to focus on the good parts. So what was good about it? For one, I wrote, revised and submitted a book to Pitch Wars! I got a job (and started earning money, ayyy)!! I got over a huge slump of depression and didn’t completely ruin my GPA! And I did my first full year of blogging *parties*

Jamie at The Perpetual Page Turner is hosting this fun annual end of the year survey, and I thought it would be a great way to see an overview of my year in reading and blogging! (All of the graphics used in this post are hers).

Number of Books Read: 103
Number of Re-reads: 33 (no shame here)
Genre You Read the Most From: YA fantasy!

best-YA-books-2014-900x244
1. Best Book You Read In 2016:

There’s no way I can pick just one, so I’m splitting it up into categories

Best standalone: Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

Best Sequel: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

Best Series Ender: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater AND The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski

Best Backlist: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

I posted my top 10 reads of 2016 if you want to see more of my favorite books from this year!

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t:
The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye. You could not walk in a straight line without running int hype for this book earlier in the year. The book itself was disappointing. It wasn’t terrible, but it was very meh and missing a bunch of qualities that would make it an exciting book. I don’t think I’ll be picking up the sequel.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read:
Dark Places and Sharp Objects, both by Gillian Flynn. Her books are meticulously crafted, and I could never unravel the mystery before the big reveal. I loved it!

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did):
Recently, I’ve been pushing an old favorite of mine–Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry. It’s an absolutely amazing book, and one that I turn to when I’m in need of a comfort book. I got a bunch of my friends to read it, and they loved it! Moral of this story: READ IT!!

5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016:

  • Series: Nevernight by Jay Kristoff
  • Sequel: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas
  • Ender: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater OR The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016:
Nicole Castroman (Blackhearts) or Huntley Fitzpatrick

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone:
Dark Places by Gillian Flynn. I don’t typically read adult books ever, but I really really loved this book because of how addicting and twisty it was.

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year:
Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff! Coincidentally, the first book in this series got this award last year 🙂

9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year:
BLACKHEARTS BY NICOLE CASTROMAN!!!!! Probably also Nevernight by Jay Kristoff, Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff, When We Collided by Emery Lord and The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016:
This question nearly gave me an aneurism, but I think I’m going to choose This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab.

11. Most memorable character of 2016:
Rhys from A Court of Mist and Fury, due to his stunning good looks and sharp tongue 😉

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016:
A tie between When We Collided by Emery Lord and Cherry by Lindsey Rosin. Both of these contemporaries were heartwrenching for different reasons, but equally beautiful.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016:
When We Collided by Emery Lord. The conversations surrounding it about depression and bipolar disorder really impacted me, and I’m very grateful.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read:
Cress and Winter by Marissa Meyer! I just finished The Lunar Chronicles in the beginning of the year and it was an absolutely magical experience.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016:
I have a terrible, terrible memory when it comes to remembering quotes, but the mantra from Nevernight has stuck with me for awhile:

“Never Flinch.’ A cold whisper in her ear. ‘Never fear. And never, ever forget.'”

16. Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016:

      • Longest: Winter by Marissa Meyer (832 pages)
      • Shortest: Fairest by Marissa Meyer (220)

17. Book That Shocked You The Most:
Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, because of how trippy the ending was. You’ll know what I mean when you get to that part.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!):
just ONE??? I’m cheating and doing more than one because there’s no way in hell I can narrow it down.

        • Mia and Tric from Nevernight
        • Rhys and Feyre from A Court of Mist and Fury
        • Anne and Teach from Blackhearts

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year:
The Gangsey from The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater. All my previous children ❤

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously:
(not counting sequels) This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:
Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat. It was terrible tbh. Definitely not for me.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016:
Teach from Blackhearts, Tric from Nevernight, August from This Savage Song, Rhys from ACOMAF

23. Best 2016 debut you read:
Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year:
Nevernight by Jay Kristoff. It fits so many categories on this list because it truly was a spectacular book in my opinion!

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read:
My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick and Walk the Edge by Katie McGarry were both cute contemporaries that I absolutely LOVED!

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016:
When We Collided by Emery Lord, Nevernight by Jay Kristoff, The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year:
BLACKHEARTS BY NICOLE CASTROMAN. YOU ARE SLEEPING ON THIS GEM, PEOPLE!!

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul:
Nevernight by Jay Kristoff (are you seeing a reoccuring theme with this book? IT HURTS, PEOPLE!)

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016:
Gemina and Nevernight, simply for the unique way in which they were told. Gemina was told in the same way as Illuminae, with video transcripts and chat logs, and Nevernight had cool footnotes and whatnot.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad:
Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas. WHERE THE HELL WAS CHAOL?????? WHAT THE HELL HAPPENED TO EVERYONE’S CHARACTER ARCS? WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON?

Okay. That’s all.

book-blogging-900x244
1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016:
I will be the first to admit that I slacked on blogging this year and was terrible when it came to discovering new blogs. But, I still managed to find some gems. Ava @ Bookishness and Tea continues to be a shining light, Aila @ One Way or An Author generates AMAZING content and be an equally amazing person, Bec and Alise @ Readers in Wonderland also have amazing posts almost daily that always make me smile when it pops up in my inbox, and more recently, I discovered Jananee @ Head in Her Books!

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016:
My review for The Love that Split the World in the very beginning of the year was very special to me, because I love both the book and the author.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog:
My best discussion post was Where’s the Love for the Brown-Eyed Girls? which I’m very pleased about, because us brown-eyed girls have to stick together! We’re beautiful too!

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.):
ALA 2016 was the highlight of my entire year! I met some of my best friends, got some of my most anticipated ARCs, and met some of my favorite authors!

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016:
Creating all of my discussion posts for 2016. I loved reading everyone’s comments and reading your thoughts on these issues 🙂

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year:
School will forever be my most challenging obstacle to overcome when it comes to blogging.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog:
My Discussion post, Where’s the Love for the Brown-Eyed Girls?

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love:
My review of Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff! This is another hidden gem that deserves way more attention than it gets.

9. Best bookish discover:
The discovery of this wonderful book called Blackhearts 🙂

10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?:
I participated in a few challenges! My goodreads goal was 100 books, and as of December 25 (merry Christmas!) I’ve completed 104 books. I also signed up for a few challenges, and this is how well I did on them:

  • Rock My TBR: 11/15 (so close!)
  • 2016 Debut Author Challenge: 19/15
  • Flights of Fantasy Challenge: 34/20
  • Reread Challenge: 33/8
  • Retelling Challenge: 10/9

looking-ahead-books-2015-900x244
1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017:
Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo!! I need to know how my babies are doing!!

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut):
A Court of Wings and Ruin and Blacksouls are a tie for first!

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating:
Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones. I CANNOT DESCRIBE MY EXCITEMENT FOR THIS BOOK!!

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017:
Terrified by the idea of both A Court of Wings and Ruin and the last TOG book (but also, I’m slightly less excited by the idea of the last TOG book by how disappointed I was by Empire of Storms :/)

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017:
Post more frequently! I’ve slacked off in the past few months, but I really want to try and get back on a semi frequent schedule again.

6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:
I just finished reading Hunted by Meagan Spooner and I loved it! A lovely retelling of Beauty and the Beast. Seriously people, add it to your list!

How was your year for reading? Let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “End of the Year Survey 2016!

  1. Brooklyn says:

    I’d have to agree with so many of your choices. Looks like you’ve had a very successful reading year. I had a pretty good reading year, I read a lot more than I have in previous years so I’m pretty pleased with that.

    Like

  2. justanothercreativewriter says:

    Looks like I’ll have to get onto reading Nevernight, I am Australian gosh damn it so I need to support the aussie book industry. Also SAME about Empire of Storms. It seems like no one else was questioning Chaol’s disappearance but a few mentions of him wasn’t enough to justify him being missing the whole book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

