Stalking Jack the Ripper Blog Tour!

stalking jack blog tour

Hey everyone! Today’s post is an extra special one–it’s the blog tour for Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco! As a Knight of Whitechapel, I’m here to tell you all about this amazing book that has captivated my heart and soul.

STALKING JACK THE RIPPER
Author: Kerri Maniscalco
Series: SJTR #1
Genre: YA, Mystery, Historical
Pub Date: September 20, 2016
Publisher: Jimmy Paterspn
Source: Book Con

Goodreads | Barnes and Noble | Amazon

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.

 

review-at-a-glance

TITLE: boring | nothing special | pretty good | caught my eye | perfection | music to my ears
COVER: not my favorite | goes well with rest of the series | boring | generic | pretty | series cover change | beautiful | HEART EYES
POV: 1st | 2nd | 3rd limited | 3rd omniscient | multiple POVs | too many POVs
CONCEPT: original as heck | run of the mill in genre | average | has potential | great idea, bad execution
MOOD: dark | hilarious | light hearted | romantic | depressing | suspenseful | fluffy | mysterious
PACING: snail’s pace | couldn’t keep up | mix of fast and slow | slow in the wrong places | fast in the wrong places | what even is pacing?
CHARACTERS: i’m in love | couldn’t connect | too many | well developed (all) | infuriating | annoying | precious babies | underdeveloped (all)| a mix of good and bad | diverse | okay | new favorite characters
ROMANCE: none | steamy | fluffy | OTP status | cute | center stage | barely there | cheesy | instalove | slow burn | i ship it | love triangle
DIVERSITY: none | lgbtq+ | racial | religion | disabled | mental illness | body

 

I used to have a huge infatuation with Jack the Ripper. Call it a symptom of surfing wikipedia during many late nights. So when I heard about Stalking Jack the Ripper, I knew I had to check it out. Coincidentally, my best friend Ava started a street team for it, so I jumped at the chance to join. And you know what? I’m glad I did, because this is one of the best books I’ve read so far this year!

The concept itself certainly lives up to the hype. Step aside, men–it’s time for the women to lead the charge against Jack the Ripper! The story itself was exciting and always kept me on my toes. Just when things were starting to settle–BAM, something else huge happened! The pacing was steady, and led up perfectly to the stunning climax.

Now, I have to say something about the actual mystery itself. Disclaimer: I guessed who the murderer was around page 30, maybe even before. However, the ripper’s identity isn’t easy to guess. There are a lot of suspects to choose from, and a lot of my friends who read the book didn’t guess correctly. I’m a huge mystery fan, so I’m used to looking for all the clues. Don’t let it discourage you! I think most people will still be shocked and wowed by the mystery.

Audrey Rose is a brilliant heroine. Literally. She is whip-smart and brave and I loved her. She’s one of my favorite main character’s from this year so far! Just like Audrey Rose, every other character was well developed and as equally suspicious. I never felt like I could trust any of them, and thankfully, none of them were annoying! All in all, it was an awesome cast of characters.

As for the romance, there wasn’t much of it 😦 It was very accurate to the time period, where people were a lot more chaste with their relationships. I LOVED Thomas and Audrey Rose together, but I wanted more from them! I’m crossing my fingers and hoping for some more romance scenes in the next books.

OverallStalking Jack the Ripper was spectacular in every way. The mystery was intriguing and kept me guessing, the characters were all equally interesting, and the main character was a badass, scalpel-wielding, brilliant girl. This is one of my favorite books ever, let alone of the year. You definitely need to check it out when it’s released in a few weeks!

5-stars

Have you read an early copy of Stalking Jack the Ripper, or are you planning to buy it when it’s released? Let me know in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “Stalking Jack the Ripper Blog Tour!

Leave a Reply

