ARC Review: Cherry by Lindsey Rosin

CHERRY
Author: Lindsey Rosin
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
Pub Date: August 16, 2016
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Source: ALA

Goodreads | Barnes and Noble | Amazon

To be honest, the sex pact wasn’t always part of the plan.

Layla started it. She announced it super casually to the rest of the girls between bites of frozen yogurt, as if it was just simply another addition to her massive, ever-evolving To Do List. She is determined to have sex for the first time before the end of high school. Initially, the rest of the crew is scandalized, but, once they all admit to wanting to lose their v-cards too, they embark on a quest to do the deed together… separately.

Layla’s got it in the bag. Her serious boyfriend, Logan, has been asking for months.

Alex has already done it. Or so she says.

Emma doesn’t know what the fuss is all about, but sure, she’ll give it a shot.

And Zoe, well, Zoe can’t even say the o word without bursting into giggles.

Will everything go according to plan? Probably not. But at least the girls have each other every hilarious, heart-warming, cringe-inducing step of the way.

From debut author Lindsey Rosin, Cherry is a coming-of-age, laugh-out-loud tale of first times, last chances, and the enduring friendships that make it all worthwhile.

 

review-at-a-glance

TITLE: boring | nothing special | pretty good | caught my eye | perfection | music to my ears
COVER: not my favorite | goes well with rest of the series | boring | generic | pretty | series cover change | beautiful | HEART EYES
POV: 1st | 2nd | 3rd limited | 3rd omniscient | multiple POVs | too many POVs
CONCEPT: original as heck | run of the mill in genre | average | has potential | great idea, bad execution
MOOD: dark | hilarious | light hearted | romantic | depressing | suspenseful | fluffy | mysterious
PACING: snail’s pace | couldn’t keep up | mix of fast and slow | slow in the wrong places | fast in the wrong places | what even is pacing?
CHARACTERS: i’m in love | couldn’t connect | too many | well developed (all) | infuriating | annoying | precious babies | underdeveloped (all)| a mix of good and bad | diverse | okay | new favorite characters
ROMANCE: none | steamy | fluffy | OTP status | cute | center stage | barely there | cheesy | instalove | slow burn | i ship it | love triangle | multiple romances
DIVERSITY: none | lgbtq+ | racial | religion | disabled | mental illness | body

 

I picked this book up at ALA in a whim because I thought it looked interesting and really unique. I thought it looked cool, but I never thought that I would end up loving a book about a sex pact as much as I did. Read on, fellow bookworms, because I have a lot of praise to shout about this book!

The plot focuses on the 4 girls and their lives, or mainly, their sex pact and all things relating to it. I was never bored, and I thought the balance between the 4 POVs was perfect. But despite it starting out as a sex pact, this book tackles other issues like friendship and the future and what happens as you approach graduation. It was a real and honest representation of all of these issues, and as a teenager quickly approaching graduation, I loved it.

The 4 main girls, Alex, Emma, Layla and Zoe, all had distinct personalities and while they were all friends, they also had their own separate problems and side characters. My favorite of the four was probably Alex (and not just because we share the same name) or Zoe. However, all the of the girls were fun to read about. Their friendship was definite goals, and I think a lot of girls with a friend group will relate to parts of it. Like we all know about that one group chat everyone has. You know what I’m talking about.

As you can imagine, a book about sex is going to have a good amount of romance. There are a ton of different couples in the book, and I’m certain that you’ll fall in love with at least one of them. I had a few favorites, but they’re spoilers, so my lips are sealed.  The actual sex part was handled really, really well. It was graphic, but it was also a honest representation of sex–not like movies–so I think it’s important for people to read this book.

I cried at the end of this book. Not because it was sad, but it was definitely bittersweet. I cried because I fell in love with these girls over the course of the book, and then to see them graduate at the end, after growing as much as they did, it made me cry. I hope that tells you how much I loved this book.

OverallCherry was an amazing debut that handles a hard issue perfectly. I felt like everything about it was real and honest–the sex, the friendships, the scariness but inevitable fact of the future. I believe everyone, especially teen girls, should read this book. I don’t know how many ways I can say this, so I’ll just lay it out straight: BUY THIS BOOK!

5-stars

Have you read CHERRY yet, or are you planning to WHEN IT COMES OUT? Let me know in the comments below!

5 thoughts on “ARC Review: Cherry by Lindsey Rosin

  1. Tasya says:

    THIS SOUNDS AMAZING! I saw it on goodreads but not sure to read it because sometimes sex just mishandled in YA. I would definitely read this book when it comes out 🙂

    Like

  2. Kelly says:

    I’m reading this one right now…and I’m not sure how I feel about it! I’m about 135 pages in and I just feel like I can’t connect with any of the characters. I do love how it’s written though, with the girls dealing with their own problems and living their own lives, but still being connected as friends. I’m sure it’ll get better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

