Red Light, Green Light | Mini Reviews: Kiss Cam, How to Hang a Witch and Vitro

Hey everyone! I have lots of reviews that I need to post, but instead of bombarding you with them for next few weeks, I’ve decided to try out a new feature called Red Light, Green Light Mini Reviews! Each feature will showcase 3 different books; one green light, one yellow light, and one green light. The green light book will be one I really liked, the red light book will be one I didn’t like, and the yellow light will fall in between the two.

traffic_light_green_dan__01

KISS CAM
Author: Kiara London
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
Pub Date: October 18, 2016
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Source: ALA

Goodreads | Barnes and Noble | Amazon

In Kiss Cam, teen author Kiara London asks, what’s a little harmless kissing between friends?

Juniper, Jasper, and Lenny have been friends forever and co-own a vlog channel called WereVloggingHere. Their fans are huge “shippers” who believe that Juniper and Jasper are perfect for each other, and, despite warnings from friends and family, a simple Truth-or-Dare inspired kiss soon spirals out of control into a whole new world of making out and surprise kisses.

Juniper and Jasper’s relationship begins to shift. But as fan requests for different “Kiss Cam” segments keep pouring in, Juniper puts her worries aside and convinces herself that it doesn’t mean anything. After all, it’s just kissing… right?

 

review-at-a-glance

TITLE: boring | nothing special | pretty good | caught my eye | perfection | music to my ears
COVER: not my favorite | goes well with rest of the series | boring | generic | pretty | series cover change | beautiful | HEART EYES
POV: 1st | 2nd | 3rd limited | 3rd omniscient | multiple POVs | too many POVs
CONCEPT: original as heck | run of the mill in genre | average | has potential | great idea, bad execution
MOOD: dark | hilarious | light hearted | romantic | depressing | suspenseful | fluffy | mysterious
PACING: snail’s pace | couldn’t keep up | mix of fast and slow | slow in the wrong places | fast in the wrong places | what even is pacing?
CHARACTERS: i’m in love | couldn’t connect | too many | well developed (all) | infuriating | annoying | precious babies | underdeveloped (all)| a mix of good and bad | diverse | okay | new favorite characters
ROMANCE: none | steamy | fluffy | OTP status | cute | center stage | barely there | cheesy | instalove | slow burn | i ship it | love triangle
DIVERSITY: none | lgbtq+ | racial | religion | disabled | mental illness | body

 

So, this book was pretty cheesy, but it was so cute I couldn’t help but like it. It’s one of those books where you have to acknowledge that there are some flaws with it, but you don’t care because you’re enjoying it. I thought a lot of the character were well developed (like the three main characters, Juniper and Jasper and Lenny), but some were underdeveloped, like many of the side characters. I was infuriated by some of the choices Juniper made, but then I got over it because it just upped the angst, and let’s be real, I love me some angst.

The romance itself was so cute!! It was a little cheesy at times, but I love the trope of best friends to lovers, and Kiss Cam did it really well. The plot could have been a little more exciting, but honestly, I ate this book up and read it in one sitting. It’s a cute, quick read with a lot of emotional pay off and I definitely recommend you check it out when it releases in October!

4-stars

6a00d83451b4ba69e20120a91cbfc9970b

HOW TO HANG A WITCH
Author: Adriana Mather
Genre: YA, Paranormal, Romance
Pub Date: July 26, 2016
Publisher: Knopf
Source: ALA

Goodreads | Barnes and Noble | Amazon

For fans of Conversion and Mean Girls, comes a debut novel where the trials of high school start to feel like a modern day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem’s past.

Salem, Massachusetts is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials and almost immediately, she becomes the enemy of a group of girls who call themselves The Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?
If dealing with that weren’t enough, Sam also comes face to face with a real live (well technically dead) ghost. A handsome, angry ghost who wants Sam to stop touching his stuff. But soon Sam discovers she is at the center of a centuries old curse affecting anyone with ties to the trials. Sam must come to terms with the ghost and find a way to work with the Descendants to stop a deadly cycle that has been going on since the first accused witch was hanged. If any town should have learned its lesson, it’s Salem. But history may be about to repeat itself.

 

review-at-a-glance

TITLE: boring | nothing special | pretty good | caught my eye | perfection | music to my ears
COVER: not my favorite | goes well with rest of the series | boring | generic | pretty | series cover change | beautiful | HEART EYES
POV: 1st | 2nd | 3rd limited | 3rd omniscient | multiple POVs | too many POVs
CONCEPT: original as heck | run of the mill in genre | average | has potential | great idea, bad execution
MOOD: dark | hilarious | light hearted | romantic | depressing | suspenseful | fluffy | mysterious
PACING: snail’s pace | couldn’t keep up | mix of fast and slow | slow in the wrong places | fast in the wrong places | what even is pacing?
CHARACTERS: i’m in love (ELIJAH) | couldn’t connect | too many | well developed (all) | infuriating | annoying | precious babies | underdeveloped (all)| a mix of good and bad | diverse | okay | new favorite characters
ROMANCE: none | steamy | fluffy | OTP status | cute | center stage | barely there | cheesy | instalove | slow burn | i ship it | love triangle
DIVERSITY: none | lgbtq+ | racial | religion | disabled | mental illness | body

 

Like Kiss Cam, I had some reservations about this book. For one, I didn’t like the main character, Samantha. She was infuriating a lot of the time, and I never really clicked with her. However, I LOVED Elijah, a ghost she meets inside her home. He was definitely my favorite thing about this book. The plot dragged in a couple places, especially in the beginning, where it started on that “cliche first day of school” trope that no one likes. To be fair though, I did read this book in one sitting, so I did like it!

There’s a love triangle in this book that I still don’t understand. One side was kind of instalove-y, and I never knew who Sam liked more because it kept changing around. This may sound like I didn’t like the book, but I did! While I didn’t like some of the individual aspects of the book, I enjoyed the story overall. It was entertaining and kept me guessing, so it definitely gets points for that.

Plus, it’s a book about Salem! Maybe it’s just me, but I was obsessed with learning about Salem when I was younger. How to Hang a Witch is worth checking out!

3-stars

red_light.png

VITRO
Author: Jessica Khoury
Series: Corpus #2
Genre: YA, Science fiction
Pub Date: January 14, 2015
Publisher: Razorbill
Source: Purchased

Goodreads | Barnes and Noble | Amazon

A death-defying tropical adventure delivers a frightening message about dabbling with creation from the talented author of Origin.

On a remote island in the Pacific, Corpus scientists have taken test tube embryos and given them life. These beings—the Vitros—have knowledge and abilities most humans can only dream of. But they also have one enormous flaw.

Sophie Crue is determined to get to Skin Island and find her mother, a scientist who left Sophie behind years ago. She enlists hunky charter pilot Jim Julien to take her there. But once on the island, Sophie and Jim encounter more than they bargained for, including a charming, brilliant Vitro named Nicholas and an innocent, newly awoken one named Lux.

In a race for their lives, Sophie and Jim are about to discover what happens when science stretches too far beyond its reach.

review-at-a-glance

TITLE: boring | nothing special | pretty good | caught my eye | perfection | music to my ears
COVER: not my favorite | goes well with rest of the series | boring | generic | pretty | series cover change | beautiful | HEART EYES
POV: 1st | 2nd | 3rd limited | 3rd omniscient | multiple POVs | too many POVs
CONCEPT: original as heck | run of the mill in genre | average | has potential | great idea, bad execution
MOOD: dark | hilarious | light hearted | romantic | depressing | suspenseful | fluffy | mysterious
PACING: snail’s pace | couldn’t keep up | mix of fast and slow | slow in the wrong places | fast in the wrong places | what even is pacing?
CHARACTERS: i’m in love | couldn’t connect | too many | well developed (all) | infuriating | annoying | precious babies | underdeveloped (all)| a mix of good and bad | diverse | okay | new favorite characters
ROMANCE: none | steamy | fluffy | OTP status | cute | center stage | barely there | cheesy | instalove | slow burn | i ship it | love triangle
DIVERSITY: none | lgbtq+ | racial | religion | disabled | mental illness | body

 

This book made me sad. Not because of the writing, but because I didn’t like it.loved the author’s newest book, The Forbidden Wish, so I thought I’d go back and read one of her older books! Sadly, this book just didn’t click with me. It’s really heavy on the sci-fi aspect and there’s little to no romance. I know some people don’t like romance, but I definitely prefer to have it in my books, especially ones that are science heavy to break up the chunks of heavy text.

The characters were well developed, but I didn’t connect with any of them, nor did I really care for any of them. When characters died, I didn’t feel anything. There were some nice themes of friends and family within the book, but I just couldn’t fully get into it. Sadly, this isn’t a book for me. If you like no romance and science fiction, this is the book for you, but if not, I’d say pass on this one.

2-stars

Have you read any of these books yet? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments below!

One thought on “Red Light, Green Light | Mini Reviews: Kiss Cam, How to Hang a Witch and Vitro

  1. Tracy (@Cornerfolds) says:

    This is the second review I’ve seen for How To Hang a Witch where there were complaints about the main character. She sounds pretty awful. :/ I own Origin but I haven’t read it yet, so seeing that the second book was such a letdown is really disappointing. Great reviews!

    Tracy @ Cornerfolds

    Like

Leave a Reply

