5 Reasons Why Everyone Should Go to a Book Conference + 5 Giveaways!

As you might know, I went to BEA last week on Wednesday and Thursday and it. was. amazing!!! I was going to do a typical recap, but I decided against it for a few reasons.

1) Because I feel lots of people have better recaps that I could ever make and

2) I hardly took any pictures there, which would make for a boring and visually unappealing blog post.

I knew I wanted to shareย something about BEA though. I thought about what I could do, and finally I came up with an idea. One of my favorite things about BEA was the atmosphere there–being surrounded by tons of other bookish people and industry professionals and authors was just so enlightening and absolutely amazing. Before then, I’d felt really sluggish and down in the dumps, but being at a book conference made me feel soย alive. Those were some of the best days of my life so far, and I think everyone (who’s interested) should go to at least one in their life.

Here are the 5ย reasons why everyone should go to a book conference:

  1. You’ll meet online friends and make new ones there!

I met tons of amazing people at BEA, including my amazing friend Ava @ Bookishness and Tea. We’ve talked on twitter and texted for months, and meeting her in person was amazing! BEA involves a lot of lines, and in these lines I met other bloggers, booksellers and industry professionals. Age doesn’t matter–it’s super easy to bond over books, and sharing your love with other people will make you feel so incredibly happy.

2. The energy there will make you feel alive

Like what I said above, just talking about books with other people is sure to put a smile on your face. I know it happened to me dozens of times. But just being at a book conference made me feel so happy. Being surrounded by all of it, the books, the people, made me feel so energized and giddy, and after being upset for awhile, it felt like a weight was lifted off my chest. I got up every day with only a few hours of sleep, and yet I still woke up with a smile on my face and an eagerness to get back to the conference center for another day of fun.

3. You’ll learn about tons of new books you wouldn’t have known about otherwise!

People are constantly pushing books at you at cons. There were dozens of publishers at BEA, and there’s bound to be countless books you haven’t heard of. I picked up a handful of books I didn’t know about before going to the conference, and I learned about even more. For example? I picked up copies of Labyrinth Lost and The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett without knowing much about them, but I got copies because they looked interesting and their lines were short. The Thousandth Floor was also one I hadn’t heard much about, and yet I picked up a copy because it looked intriguing. That’s just three books of many that I picked up on a whim there!

4. You can snag a few ARCs!

You can’t mention book conferences without the books! I won’t deny it–getting ARCs is pretty awesome. I got a lot of amazing copies that I am *super* excited for, and I’m equally excited to share my reviews for you! Getting copies of your most anticipated books is pretty sweet, but don’t forget to use them for their actual purpose–promotion!

5. It’ll rekindle your love for books/blogging

Before I went to BEA, I had been in a huge blogging slump (as you can see from the lack of recent posts in the past couple months). As soon as I got there, I was swept up in y love for books, and every day I got home with a pile of ARCs that I was super excited to review for the blog. Now, a week after BEA, I’m flying through my bookshelf and scheduling reviews again! I can’t tell you how happy I am that I’m back into blogging after being away from it for so long. This community, good or bad, is my home, and I’m happy to be back ๐Ÿ™‚

And now, what you’ve probably all been waiting for…

giveaway

When I went to BEA, I picked up some titles specifically for you guys! I love my followers–and anyone who takes the time to visit my blog–so I wanted to say thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

I thought about doing one big giveaway, but I thought it would be a lot more fun to do multiple, smaller giveaways! That way more people can win overall. You can enter as many giveaways as you want, you just have to fill out the form for each one you want to enter. Also, be sure to check out my twitter for twitter-exclusive giveaways! (Due to shipping costs, all of these giveaways will be US ONLY, but look on twitter for an upcoming international swag giveaway!)

Giveaway #1

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Giveaway number #1 is for 3 short and sweet contemporaries! It’s for 1 ARC of Cloudwish, 1 ARC of Nice Girls Endure and 1 ARC of Love and First Sight.

giveaway-button

Giveaway #2

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Giveaway #2 is all about upcoming sci-fi/futuristic books! This giveaway includes one ARC of Disruption and 1 ARC of The Thousandth Floor.

giveaway-button

GIVEAWAY #3

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

These books aren’t from BEA, but I still wanted to give them away because I have extras of them, and they are recent favorites of mine! This giveaway is for 1 ARC of A Fierce and Subtle Poison and 1 hardcover of The Forbidden Wish.

giveaway-button

Giveaway #4

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Giveaway #4 involves books that are out of my comfort zone, so I thought I’d share them with you! It’s 1 middle grade book and 2 adult ones. This giveaway is for 1 ARC of The Secretkeepers, 1 ARC of Love Warrior and 1 ARC of Little Death

giveaway-button

Giveaway #5

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Giveaway #5 is all about contemporaries with pretty covers! This giveaway is for 1 ARC of Defending Taylor and 1 ARC of Our Chemical Hearts.

giveaway-button

hAVE YOU BEEN TO ANY BOOK CONFERENCES? If not, which ones would you want to go to? Let me know in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “5 Reasons Why Everyone Should Go to a Book Conference + 5 Giveaways!

Leave a Reply

