Walk the Edge by Katie McGarry Blog Tour

WTE Banner

Welcome to the Walk the Edge blog tour! If you read my blog semi-regularly, you know that I am the BIGGEST fan of Katie McGarry. All of her books are spectacular and she’s one of the few contemporary authors I read willingly and enjoy a lot. That’s why I’m super honored and excited to be on this blog tour highlighting the release of her newest book, book 2 in the Thunder Road series, Walk the Edge!

Walk the Edge
Author: Katie McGarry
Series: Thunder Road #2
Genre: YA, contemporary, romnace
Pub Date: March 29, 2016
Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Goodreads | Barnes and Noble | Amazon | Indie Bound | The Book Depository

One moment of recklessness will change their worlds.

Smart. Responsible. That’s seventeen-year-old Breanna’s role in her large family, and heaven forbid she put a toe out of line. Until one night of shockingly un-Breanna-like behavior puts her into a vicious cyber-bully’s line of fire—and brings fellow senior Thomas “Razor” Turner into her life.

Razor lives for the Reign of Terror motorcycle club, and good girls like Breanna just don’t belong. But when he learns she’s being blackmailed over a compromising picture of the two of them—a picture that turns one unexpected and beautiful moment into ugliness—he knows it’s time to step outside the rules.

And so they make a pact: he’ll help her track down her blackmailer, and in return she’ll help him seek answers to the mystery that’s haunted him—one that not even his club brothers have been willing to discuss. But the more time they spend together, the more their feelings grow. And suddenly they’re both walking the edge of discovering who they really are, what they want, and where they’re going from here.

review-at-a-glance

TITLE: boring | nothing special | pretty good | caught my eye | perfection | music to my ears
COVER: not my favorite | goes well with rest of the series | boring | generic | pretty | series cover change | beautiful | HEART EYES
POV: 1st | 2nd | 3rd limited | 3rd omniscient | multiple POVs | too many POVs
CONCEPT: original as heck | run of the mill in genre | average | has potential | great idea, bad execution
MOOD: dark | hilarious | light hearted | romantic | depressing | suspenseful | fluffy | mysterious
PACING: snail’s pace | couldn’t keep up | mix of fast and slow | slow in the wrong places | fast in the wrong places | what even is pacing?
CHARACTERS: i’m in love | couldn’t connect | too many | well developed (all) | infuriating | annoying | precious babies | underdeveloped (all)| a mix of good and bad | diverse | okay | new favorite characters
ROMANCE: none | steamy | fluffy | OTP status | cute | center stage | barely there | cheesy | instalove | slow burn | i ship it | love triangle
DIVERSITY: none | lgbtq+ | racial | religion | disabled | mental illness | body

 

It’s great when the first book of a series knocks your socks off and gets you hooked, but it’s also a little nerve-wracking because you worry if the second book could top it. I really loved Nowhere But Here and I was worried I wouldn’t love Walk the Edge as much, but I can gladly say both books are equally and utterly amazing.

I think one of my favorite things about Walk the Edge is how realistic it was. I could easily picture myself in the same situation as Breanna. It’s not that all of her other books are unrealistic–it’s just that I can all too well picture someone holding a picture over someone’s head as blackmail. It happens so often, and I felt that the way Katie McGarry handled it was so well done. I felt the urgency in both the plot and Breanna and Razor’s actions. And, I really am a sucker for when characters are out of their element–like Breanna with Razor–so that was a plus. I don’t know how I can phrase it other than this story was really damn good.

Razor and Breanna are some of the most well developed, unique characters by Katie McGarry yet. Our female POV, Breanna, has this interesting thing where if she sees a puzzle, or a brainteaser or something complex and tricky, she can’t stop thinking about it until she’s figured it out. I’ve never read about a character like her, which was pretty neat. I also liked the chemistry–or lack thereof–with her family because it was unlike any familial relationships I’ve read about. Our male POV, Razor, was so unlike Oz but still so amazing. My favorite thing about him was how he wasn’t interested in changing who he was just because he liked Breanna. A lot of bad boy stories can make the guys suddenly change their ways and turn into “good guys,” but Razor’s personality never did a 180. It was so refreshing, and I loved it.

THE ROMANCE!!!! Like I said above, Breanna and Razor didn’t try to change each other; they accepted one another and embraced the fact that they were different, but still loved each other. Razor was such a gentleman, too, which I have a sweet spot for. Most guys wouldn’t care about the picture that shows Breanna and him in a provocative position, but he did, and I think that says a lot. I love their relationship so, so much and I’m excited to see more of them in later books!

OverallWalk the Edge was a stunning addition to the Thunder Road series. The characters were unique and well developed, the story was very realistic and the romance was steamy (the best kind of romance!). I’m yet again floored by a Katie McGarry book and you can definitely bet that I’ll be checking out the next two books in the series (and anything else the queen writes!)

Follow the rest of the tour!

The fun doesn’t end here! There’s two weeks full of fun and exciting things, all celebrating the upcoming release of Walk the Edge! Check out the other stops:

Week 1:
 
Week 2:

giveaway

There’s a giveaway going on during the tour for 3 finished copies of Walk the Edge! (US only)

giveaway-button

Are you excited for WALK THE eDGE? Have you read any of Katie McgARRY’S OTHER BOOKS? Let me know in the comments below!

10 thoughts on “Walk the Edge by Katie McGarry Blog Tour

  1. danielle hammelef says:

    I haven’t read a review of this author’s book yet that doesn’t really love her characters. I haven’t read any of her books yet, but I must start so I’m not missing out!

    Like

  2. Sarah Cone says:

    I’d seen this book around the Internets lately but no reviews so I had no idea what it was about it that it was book 2 in a series. So, thanks, my lovely; after reading both your reviews, these are hittin’ the list! (aka,going on my TBR). 😉

    Like

  3. Kelly says:

    I have read every single Katie McGarry book! I love them all! Thanks for the great post! I have WTE and I just need the time to read it!! WooHoo! I am so excited!

    Like

  4. Sarah @ Aphonic Sarah says:

    I really love how you have your review laid out! I LOVED this book so much! I ended up binge reading her pushing The Limits series before this came out. I feel like I need the third book in this series tomorrow and not next year!

    Sarah @Aphonic Sarah

    Like

Leave a Reply

