Discussion: Why It’s Okay to Take a Break

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted on the blog, and an even longer time since I’ve actually written up a post. It’s currently 11:11pm, and I decided to write this discussion on a whim. It’s one I’ve been thinking about for awhile now, and I think that I’m writing this discussion both for myself, and for other people to know that it’s okay to take some time for yourself.

I’ve been having a rough time personally for about two months now. Usually when I’m depressed, I throw myself into my hobbies, whether it be reading or writing or blogging. But this time it was different. I just wanted to do nothing all day, and I had zero desire to work on blog posts.

I counted down the days until my scheduled posts ran out, but I didn’t write anything new. And once the posts ran out, I still did nothing.

The stress of blogging did absolutely nothing to help my depression. It ย was just another weight on my shoulders, along with the schoolwork that was piling up because of my absences. The obvious solution to the problem would be to write up a post and fix it, right?

Wrong. I didn’t want to do anything. I didn’t even want to get out of bed, much less format a post and write a review and take a title picture and edit it in photoshop….the list goes on and on. For weeks, this was like a dark cloud hanging over me. I love blogging, I really do–I’ve met some amazing people and learned about some equally amazing books. This blogging slump really killed my mood, and I hated it.

But then, I realized something. Something really damn important that I think a lot of people need to hear.

Lots of bloggers deal with personal issues that can get in the way of blogging. Life has a funny way of throwing a wrench in your plans every now and then, and that’s what happened to me when I got depressed when I was at my peak as a blogger. I thought that I had to be this perfect blogger who always had posts ready and was always on twitter and was always reading books and writing reviews.

But the thing is, there’s no such thing as a perfect blogger, and you shouldn’t feel guilty for taking time away from your blog and focusing on yourself. It’s okay if you don’t have a post scheduled for a week, or two weeks, or even months. Your worth as a blogger shouldn’t be measured by the amount of posts you have, or the time you spend on social media, or how many books you read in a month. Sometimes you need to take a break, and that’s completely okay.

As much as it seems like it sometimes, your blog isn’t the end all, be all of your life, I promise. It’ll still be there for you when you come back from your break. Sure, your stats might be low–mine are, but do I care? Heck no. I haven’t looked at my stats in a month and it’s felt so nice to not have to worry about them. Some bloggers make a post if they’re going on a hiatus, but I didn’t make one when I was gone for over a week.

It was a weight off my shoulders when I didn’t have to worry about blogging while I was getting back int he swing of things. I’m slowly getting better and taking my depression one day at a time, and I feel like I can handle blogging now. But if I happen to change my mind, if I can’t handle blogging again, I’m going right back on hiatus. Because it’s okay to take a break to focus on yourself. I promise that your followers and your friends will understand.

This discussion isn’t my best one, no, but I feel like it has one of the most important messages: It’s okay to take time for yourself away from blogging. You come first, no matter what, and it’ll make you feel so much freer. Take care of yourself and remember it’s okay to take a break. You deserve it.

14 thoughts on “Discussion: Why It’s Okay to Take a Break

  1. novelcravings says:

    Agreed it does have an important message. This is a tooic i have been struggling with but in regards to my Booktube channel. But you are absolutely right I need to out me first. Thank you ๐Ÿ’œ

    Like

  2. Read Diverse Books says:

    Yes, we all understand. I haven’t reached the point of needing a break from my blog, but I will let it happen if it’s necessary.

    Just keep working on yourself. Everyone will still be here when youre ready to return in earnest. :]

    Like

  3. sarinalangerwriter says:

    I’ve read a lot of posts like yours recently, and the message is fantastic! It’s definitely okay to take a break.
    I hope you feel better soon ๐Ÿ™‚ Don’t stress about the blogging, just take the time you need and come back when you’re ready.

    Like

  4. Sara @ freadomlibrary says:

    You are totally right. It’s really courageous of you to share your struggles and to be firm in your decisions. I understand the tolls that depression can take on a person (in my worst moments I spent an entire year laying in bed and crying) and it’s important to do what’s right for you. I can’t wait until you come back because I love your posts but only when you are ready and feel comfortable with you

    Like

  5. Maha @younicornreads says:

    i totally agree. bloggers will definitely need a break some time, if not today, tomorrow.
    the thing is that…it’s your blog. do what the hell you want with it. post once every three days or once every month, it doesn’t matter. i’ll love it anyway. what matters is that you post what you love, and love what you post.

    Like

  6. Yvonne B. (bookishpanda) says:

    Oh god, I feel this so much. I’ve been in a slump for … well, surely over a month and can’t bring myself to prepare posts and read as regularly as I used to do. In my case it has nothing to do with a depression (I guess?) and any other bad things but more like … I’m too “lazy”? If that even makes sense? I’m not sure what causes all this … I want to blog but when I plan on doing something I’m suddenly not in the mood anymore. Sigh.

    I’m slowly getting back to it now and hope it’ll last for longer than just a few days … we’ll see. But yes, I totally agree with your post – IT’S OKAY TO TAKE A BREAK AND DO NOTHING. That’s what we need sometimes and after all YOU’re the most important thing, so take care of yourself first!

    I hope you’re feeling better soon, Alex! I know you’ll get through this. โ™ฅ
    Yvonne @ A World Between Folded Pages

    Like

  7. SERIESous Book Reviews says:

    Sometimes the best thing you can do is take a step-back and look out for yourself. We all go through slumps or down times and it is ok to make changes when they need to be done.

    Blogging is a thing you do for yourself and the great thing about it is that you can choose to share it with other people. But you have to do what makes you happy or comfortable

    All the best!

    Like

  8. vivalabooklife says:

    i agree with this on so many levels. i’ve been feeling like taking a break for awhile, and i’m currently on spring break so i won’t be posting anything of my own this week. i have people posting guest posts since i wanted to take time for myself over break. heck, its been great. along with school work and such, there is a lot more i need to focus on other than reading and blogging. great post ๐Ÿ™‚ a lot of bloggers need to know its okay to take a break sometimes!

    Like

  9. FictionalNeverland says:

    I totally understand what you mean! Blogging is generally really fun but sometimes it can feel like a whole load of stress on top of of everything else.

    I hope you feel better soon Alex! Remember that taking care of yourself always comes first and that we will always be here for you โค๏ธ

    Like

  10. Sarah Cone says:

    You are so spot on with this post and I agree with everything you said…er, wrote. It’s SO important to take care of yourself/make yourself a priority.
    I’m really proud of & happy for you for coming to this realization.
    I’m also very glad that you’re starting to feel better and I hope that continues. Know that I’m sending you mega assloads of love& vibes of peace & happiness.
    I know that with your strength and whit and awesomeness, you’ll totally beat this. But for now, like you said, one day at a time.
    *HUUUUUGGGSSSSS*

    Like

  11. Nova @ Out of Time says:

    unfortunately, i think my entire blogging career since 2015 has been a break. i’m kind of just fading in and out of the community, trying to get my life together and sometimes it’s really disheartening to see that i’m not doing as well as i could but then again, i feel great that everyone is super patient and it reminds me why i’m here in the first place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

