January Wrap Up + February TBR!

wrap-up-3

The first month of 2016 is coming to an end. It seems like we just rang in the new year yesterday, so it’s a little hard to believe I’m already posting my first wrap up of 2016. It’s been a busy month; I had midterms, I went to Kathy MacMillan’s launch party for Sword and Verse, I received my first ever ARC (!!!!), survived snowzilla Jonas, and I read a shit ton of books and published a hell of a lot of posts. Though I had a productive month, it’s also been a very rough one for my personal life. I don’t want to go into detail, but some things have been going on in my family that have left me MIA from social media. Hopefully next month will be better, but first, let’s see what happened on Fiery Reads during January!

wrap-up-6

I’ve been trying out a new schedule for the blog, and so far it’s been great! I’ve posted two reviews every week and a new discussion post every Sunday, with the occasional extra post here and there. Basically, it’s been an awesome month, blogging wise. Here are the posts I published in January:

review-passenger

truthwitch-tag

why-don't-we-love-female-villains

this-is-where-it-ends-review

wrap-up-1

It was a great reading month and I’m not sure why or how, considering I was busy as hell. This month, I read a total of 14 books, with 2 of those books coming from my January TBR.

jan-1jan-2jan-3jan-4

Reviewed: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken, All That Glows by Ryan Graudin, Firsts by Laurie E. Flynn, The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie, This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp, Truthwitch by Susan Dennard, First & Then by Emma Mills, Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge (coming soon!), The Impostor Queen by Emma Fine (coming soon!), Titans by Victoria Scott (coming soon!)

Rereads: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, Nightshade by Andrea Cremer, Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer, Bloodrose by Andrea Cremer

Total books read so far this year: 14/75

wrap-up-5

This is my first year that I’m actively trying to win some challenges. I kind of signed up for…. a lot, so I was/am a bit worried that I won’t manage to win them all. However, I did make a pretty good dent in some of them! Here’s how I did on my reading challenges:

Rock My TBR: 2/15 books (All That Glows and First & Then)

Debut Authors 2016: 3/15+ (Firsts, The Abyss Surrounds Us, and This Is Where It Ends)

Flights of Fantasy: 5/20 (All That Glows, Beautiful Creatures, Truthwitch, Cruel Beauty and The Impostor Queen)

Re-Read Challenge: 4/8 (Beautiful Creatures and the Nightshade trilogy)

Retelling Challenge: 1/9 (Cruel Beauty)

Series-a-Month: 1/12 (The Nightshade trilogy)

wrap-up-4

There are some really amazing books coming out in February (and I’ve preordered like 7!) but these are the few I really want to get to. I missed out on Cress in January and I want to finish the Lunar Chronicles, Burning Glass I need to read ASAP because I’m borrowing it from a friend (thanks Ava! <3) and I have an ARC of Into the Dim that’s calling my name!

What books did you read in January? Did you have a favorite post of the month? Let me know in the comments below!

my-sig

5 thoughts on “January Wrap Up + February TBR!

  1. lostwithinwordsx says:

    What an amazing reading month Alex! January was really special for me as I started my blog 😀 My favourite post just might be my favourites of 2015 as I put in a lot of time and effort ❤

    Like

  2. readwritelove28 says:

    Whoa it does sound like it’s been a very crazy month for you! Well I’m super happy for you that you received your first ever ARC *how exciting* plus being productive is always super awesome! In terms of real life, I’m sorry 😦 My DMs are always open if you want to talk *hugs* I missed some of the posts that you put up on your blog this month, so I’m definitely going to have to check them out! Also, three cheers for SST review! 🙂 Woohooooooo 14 books is awesome! Personally I’ve read Passenger, Firsts, Beautiful Creatures, The Abyss Surrounds Us, and Truthwitch from your list. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for February! ❤

    Like

  3. Sarah Cone says:

    I’m with you; I can’t believe it’s February already!! I’m really loving everything about your blog and I think you’re doing a fabulous job.I think it’s awesome that you’re challenging yourself so much and I have total confidence that you’ll meet all your goals. That said, as we all know, sh*t happens so don’t beat yourself up if you fall behind where you think you should be; just take a step back, a deep breath and do your best. Again, I don’t doubt you at all but often times we are our own worst enemy/ that hardest on ourselves and I think you’re awesome & I don’t want you stressing yourself out. Also, congrats on your first ARC! I won my first ARC too! I got Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan and I really liked it and am looking forward to book 2 (aka, I want it RIGHT.NOW). TBH I have a love/hate relationship with ARCs… It’s super cool to get one & it’s sooo easy to get swept away by all the hype & excitement of it (and of course, i would never turn down an offer to have one)but at the same time I’m somewhat uncomfortable(?) by how so many are becoming so obsessed and part of me wishes they weren’t such a big deal. Anyway, I’m really looking forward to more reviews and discussion posts and I hope you have a wonderfully happy and stress free February!!

    Like

  4. katherinereads says:

    Aw, I had a pretty bad personal month too, so I hope it gets better for both of us. Cress is my favorite from the Lunar Chronicles, so I’ll think you’ll really enjoy it too 🙂 You managed to read a lot this month and do some rereads. I’m really bad at rereading books, but I’m starting one right now! It’s kind of a casual reread, so I just read chapters here and there when I’m feeling it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

