Top Ten Tuesday #10: Favorite Fictional Character Names

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. There’s a new topic each week and you post 10 things that follow the theme. This is a freebie week, so for the theme I decided to do my Top 10 Fictional Character Names.

1. Celaena from Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
2. Gansey from The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
3. Calla from Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

4. Safiya from Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
5. Tarver from These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

6. Kaz from Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
7. Cassiopeia from The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
8. Arin from The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski
9. Rhysand from A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
10. Alina from Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

What are some of your favorite fictional character names? do you share any of my picks? Let me know in the comments!

my-sig

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #10: Favorite Fictional Character Names

  1. Gabi @ Let's Gab About Books says:

    I love the topic you chose! All of those names are so unique. My favorite from your list is Rhysand from ACOTAR, who I think is such an interesting character and definitely love his name. One of my favorite complete names is Rowan Whitethorn from TOG, because I just feel like it’s elegant and perfect for his character. SJMaas is so good at names! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Kat Impossible says:

    Great idea for a TTT Freebie! Every time I read Safiya, I have to think of the girl at Buzzfeed with the same name hahaha I still have to read Truthwitch and now I wonder if I will always think of the BZ girl instead of how the character is supposed to look.

    Like

  3. Sarah Cone says:

    Oh man, because of my (lack of)memory;the fault of my TBI, not the fault of a non interesting character names, sadly, I can’t remember any names of characters off the top of my head. While I rush to my bookshelves to do some research, I’ll just say that in general I like unusual names and for some reason, girls names that are shortened into traditionally boyish names like Jo for Johanna and (ahem)Alex for the various options like Alexandria, Alexa, etc.
    Ok, so… After checking out my shelves, here are some of my faves:
    Cicely from the ‘Indigo Court series by Yasmine Galenorn (Adult)
    Lily from the Blood Lily Chronicles by Julie Kenner (Adult)
    Elena from the Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith
    Alyssa from the Splintered series by A.G. Howard
    Violet from Creepy Hollow by Rachel Morgan and Maya from the Darkness Rising series by Kelley Armstrong
    With these it’s not that they’re so unusual but while reading, I *do remember thinking that I liked those names and that they totally fit the character.

    Like

  4. Lois says:

    Tarver is one of my favourite fictional names and favourite characters. I can’t get enough of him haha. I also love the name Lilac. Those two are my OTP. Finnikin (Finnikin of the Rock) is another name that I absolutely adore and I always find that these names just fit their character and their personalities. I absolutely love this topic.

    Like

  5. novelcravings says:

    Oooo Tarver, I like that! I LOVE names!! Just names in general.It’s funny though most of the books I really enjoy, I’m not fond of the main characters names. I love Aelin from TOG though. I say it Ay-lin though and I don’t think thats correct. When I have been saying it or rather reading it in my head though for so long and then I am corrected I have a hard time reading it any other way. I read Chaol as coal for the first two books and I cannot read it as kale. Does that make sense? I also like Sabriel, Nikolai, Iseult, Ruby, and every name in Six of Crows. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. Josephine says:

    I absolutely love the name Celaena – I would totally name my child Celaena! And Rhysand! I loved it the moment I heard it! ๐Ÿ˜Š As for the other names, they are equally as lovely. Fictional names are the best! (and by that I mean, names of characters in books are the best).

    Like

Leave a Reply

