2016 Reading Challenges and Goals!

2016-reading-challenges-and-goals

2016 is nearly upon us, and that means it’s time to announce all of the challenges I’m participating in for the year! This will be my first full calendar year blogging, so I’m super excited to track my progress for all of these challenges and see how I do by the end of the year.

I acknowledge that I might be going a bit overboard with all of these challenges, but I’m hoping that I can accomplish most/all of them! I’m a mood reader, but lots of these challenges fit books that are in my favorite genres, so hopefully that will help.

Rock My TBR is hosted by Sarah @ The YA Book Traveler. It’s a challenge that aims to help you knock some of those books off your extra long TBR list! I know I’m very guilty of letting books pile up, but I’m hoping that this challenge will help me read some! I’m aiming for 15 books. I don’t have a definitive list, but these are a few I KNOW I definitely want to get to:

  • All That Glows by Ryan Graudin
  • Nil by Lynne Matson
  • Taken by Erin Bowman
  • Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor
  • The Remedy by Suzanne Young

The Debut Author Challenge is hosted by Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl. The challenge is to read 2016 debut authors (as stated pretty clearly in the name, lol). I’m hoping to read 15+ books for this challenge. Here are a few I know that I’ll definitely be reading:

  • The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig
  • Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman
  • The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye
  • Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers
  • The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Flights of Fantasy is a challenge hosted by Alexa @ Alexa Loves Books and Chelly @ Hello, Chelly. The goal is to read as many fantasy novels as you want! I’m going to aim for 20 books or more, which shouldn’t be too hard, considering it is my favorite genre. Here are some of the books I hope to read for it:

  • Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes
  • Burning Glass by Kathryn Purdie
  • Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
  • A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

The Re-Read Challenge is hosted by Belle @ Belle of the Literati, and the goal is to reread as many books as you want. I LOVE to reread books, so I’m going to say that I want to reread 8 books or more. Here are a few that I hope to reread in 2016:

  • The Winner’s Curse and The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski
  • Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor
  • An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
  • Crash Into You by Katie McGarry
  • The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

The Retelling Challenge is hosted by Mel @ The Daily Prophecy. The challenge is to read retellings, whether they be from actual fairytales, myths, legends, etc. There’s a bunch of different tiers, but I’m aiming for Goose Girl, or 5-9 books. Here are a few I hope to read for this challenge:

  • Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge
  • A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston
  • Cress and Winter by Marissa Meyer
  • Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan

The last challenge I’m taking apart in is A Series a Month hosted by Danielle @ Love at First Page. The goal is pretty straightforward–you read a series a month, and the series has to be at least 2 full length books long. I’m pretty behind on a few series, so I’m eager to start this challenge! Here are a few series I hope to read/finish reading:

  • Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes
  • Taken Trilogy by Erin Bowman
  • All That Glows  series by Ryan Graudin
  • The Wolves of Mercy Falls by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Caster Chronicles by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

I’m also doing the Goodreads challenge. This year, I hit my goal of 50 books and went over it by 8 books (and there’s still 3 days of 2015 left!). For 2016, I’m going to set my goal tentatively at 75. Unofficially, I’m going to try for 100, but 75 is what I’m really going to try for!

blogging-goals

2016 will be the first full calendar year for Fiery Reads, so I want to try and focus on making my blog the best it can be. I don’t want to set goals that I know I can’t meet, but they’re going to be goals that I’m going to try my damned hardest to achieve!

  • Create a new feature that involves me putting up a new discussion post every Sunday. I loved writing my previous two discussion pieces, and I want to try and make a new one every week with relevant, thought-provoking ideas.
  • Go to BEA, meet some friends, and generally have a kickass time! That’s right–my grandma’s christmas present to me this year was a trip to BEA 2016, and I’m so excited I could explode. I cannot wait to go to BEA; it’s been a dream of mine for years, and now it’s finally going to come true.
  • Try and post 2 times a week on the blog. I figure I should start small, and 2 posts isn’t too hard; I usually do that most weeks just with top ten tuesday and waiting on wednesday posts anyways. Hopefully I can stay on top of this!
  • Post a picture to instagram every day. I’m taking apart in a 100 day productivity challenge, and I’m going to try and take up bookstagram seriously during this time. I already have an account, but in 2016 I want to really step up my game.
  • Receive my first print ARC. This, to me, will be one of those really big milestones. When I hit 100 followers (THANK YOU AGAIN!!!), I was over the moon, and I think I’ll feel the same way when I get approved for my first print ARC. Fingers crossed that I can take my blog to this next level in 2016!

All of the reading challenges and my progress for them will be on a new page titled “Challenges” as soon as I can get it up. I’m going to try really hard to beat most of these challenges in 2016; it will be the year of reading, I can feel it!

Have you signed up for any reading challenges, or are you going to? See any books above that you want to buddy read with me? Let me know in the comments!

13 thoughts on “2016 Reading Challenges and Goals!

  1. Shealea Iral says:

    Whoa, this is certainly an ambitious list of challenges! I’ve signed up for a few of these challenges as well. Can’t wait to see how everything turns out.

    As for your personal blogging goals, I share the same sentiment! I created my blog a little less than 2 weeks ago, and I intend to keep it up and running in the midst of my battle against academic requirements and org work. I really, really hope I can get a print ARC this year as well! Best of luck to us both. And have a great year ahead!

    Shealea @ that bookshelf bitch

    Like

  2. Katy Goodwin-Bates says:

    This sounds like a full-time job. I hope you have a good supply of chocolate. I’m doing Rock My TBR and Flights of Fantasy too: I can’t wait for A Gathering of Shadows. Like, I literally refuse to wait. It isn’t fair.

    Like

  3. Sara @ freadomlibrary says:

    Best of luck in all those challenges and goals for 2016! I’m a little bit intimidated for you to be quite honest, but I’m sure you know your reading better than I do haha. My blog is also going to have its first full year in 2016 and I’m actually quite nervous to see if I’ll be able to keep up like I have been these last few months

    Like

  4. Mel@thedailyprophecy says:

    (Don’t forget to sign up for the challenge by adding your link to the link-up post! :))

    Rock my TBR, Flights of fantasy, Re-read and my own challenge are also the ones I’m participating in. I hope you are able to get your first print ARC and I’m also planning to keep up with Instagram.

    Good luck and happy reading!

    Like

  5. Jacquelyn says:

    Good luck with all of your reading challenges this year! I think they are all great but I resisted joining in on any just to lower stress. I am just going to do the Goodreads Reading Challenge in hopes to read 120 books.

    Happy New Year!

    Like

  6. Alexandra @ Literary Legionnaire says:

    Oooh looks like you signed up for a lot of challenges 🙂 Good luck! I think I’d fail miserably if I tried to do the series a month or the reread challenge because I am horrible at completing series (unless it’s my favorite series ever) and I personally am not a fan of rereading, but it looks like you’re going to be reading a lot of good books for the challenges 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

