End of the Year Survey 2015!

2015-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984-900x865

So, 2015 is finally coming to an end. 2015 was an okay year; there was some good, and there was some bad in it, but ultimately, it turned out okay. More importantly, 2015 is the year I started Fiery Reads! Making this blog has been one of the best decisions I’ve ever made, and I couldn’t be more excited to see where this journey takes me in 2016.

Jamie at The Perpetual Page Turner is hosting this fun annual end of the year survey, and I thought it would be a great way to see an overview of my year in reading! (All of the graphics used in this post are hers).
reading-stats-2015-1024x278-900x244
Number of Books Read: 58
Number of Re-reads: 24 (I was in a really long slump, and I reread my favorite books to try and get myself out of it, hence the large % of rereads this year)
Genre You Read the Most From: YA fantasy! It’s my favorite genre ❤

best-YA-books-2014-900x244
1. Best Book You Read In 2015:

  • The Wrath and the Dawn
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  • Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
  • All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

I posted my top 11 reads of 2015 if you want to see more of my favorite books from this year!

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t:
Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I think this was a case where the hype was just wayyyy too much. I really wanted to love this book, I did. It just didn’t turn out very well and I’m not sure if I’ll even bother to pick up the sequel.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read:
The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey. It completely changed the entire way I look at the series. The book was just one big ball of deception, and by the end of it I was slack-jawed and felt like I’d been completely betrayed.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did):
I really pushed people to read The Starbound Trilogy this winter when I reviewed all 3 books. Seriously people, they’re so good! Also, I’ve really been pushing The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry. It comes out January 26, 2016, and everyone should definitely go read it!

5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015:

  • Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  • Sequel: The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski or Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
  • Ender: Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015:
Emily Henry (The Love That Split the World) or Renee Ahdieh (The Wrath and the Dawn)

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone:
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. I don’t read much contemporary, but I ended up loving this book so much, it made it into my top 5 of 2015!

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year:
Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. I flew through the last 200 pages because they were so incredibly thrilling!

9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year:
I’ll probably reread An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir, Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas and The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski in order to get ready for their sequels next year!

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015:
I cannot for the life of me choose between Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman and The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry. Both of them are just so incredibly beautiful! You can see my top 10 favorite covers of 2015 here if you want!

11. Most memorable character of 2015:
Have to go with Kaz Brekker from Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. She knows how to write crooked boys, and oh man, am I incredibly in love with this one.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015:
The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry, no questions. It’s a quiet sort of beautiful, and I love it so, so much.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015:
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. It’s a painful book, that’s for damn sure, but it also raises a lot of important questions about mental illness that I think are very important.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read:
The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey! I LOVED The 5th Wave when it first came out, so I don’t know why I waited over a year after its release to read the sequel. It wasn’t better than the first book, but it was still pretty good.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015:
I should put something profound and beautiful, but I’m going to have to go with my heart here and say the scene between Feyre and Tamlin in the hallway after the ceremony in A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (you feel me, ACOTAR squad?). I’ve read that scene at least 20 times, and I’m still in awe of it.

16. Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015:

      • Longest: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas (648 pages)
      • Shortest: Hello, Goodbye and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith (246 pages)

17. Book That Shocked You The Most:
The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey. There were just so many revelations in this book that I’m not quite sure I’ll ever be over.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!):
OF THE YEAR???? I can’t do just one, so I’m cheating (I won’t even count rereads, because that would just be too cruel).

        • Shazi and Khalid from The Wrath and the Dawn
        • Tamlin and Feyre from A Court of Thorns and Roses
        • Arin and Kestrel from The Winner’s Crime

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year:
The relationship between Tamlin, Lucien and Feyre. All of them were just so amazing, and I love how they all balanced each other out pretty well.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously:
It’s a tie between Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge and Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry (I’m not counting sequels).

21. Best Book You Read In 2015 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:
A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab. It was pretty “meh,” to be honest.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015:
Tamlin from ACOTAR, Khalid from TWATD, and Kaz from Six of Crows. I REALLY can’t choose between them!!

23. Best 2015 debut you read:
The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year:
Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge. The worldbuilding was probably what I loved most about the book; I loved the idea of the Great Forest, and the forestborns, etc. It was so delightful to read!

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read:
Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry had a really nice romance that I LOVED! She really is the queen of contemporary, guys!

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015:
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven made me ugly cry. The ending ripped my heart out of my chest and stomped it to pieces right in front of me.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year:
Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman! It was really, really good; I’d never read a western before, but I was pleasantly surprised by this one!

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul:
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (again). It all comes back to the ending, honestly. Definitely qualifies as soul crushing

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015:
Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, because of the way it was told through IMs, transcripts, emails, etc. The designs of some of the pages… *sighs* They were so pretty!

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad:
Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the book! But some of the choices the characters made….(okay. I’m still very salty about my ship. Will never get over it).

book-blogging-900x244
1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2015:
I discovered so many new blogs this year! Some of my favorites are Little Lillie Reads, A Book and A Cup of Coffee, Princessica of Books and Twirling Pages! Also, I love my ACTOAR squad on twitter ❤ They’re Lillie, Hannah from The Road to Hannah, Kate from Kate Reads Lit, Melieka from Endless Pages, and Ava from Bookishness with Tea!

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2015:
I’m going to have to go with my review for Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner. This series meant a lot to me, and I had such an amazing time writing up my thoughts and discussion 🙂

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog:
My favorite post I’ve ever written was my discussion on Why Girls in Dresses Matter. This post really means a lot to me and I’m glad a lot of people felt the same way about it as I did.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.):
I went to Bookcon this year, and it was one of the best experiences of my life!! I had so much fun, and I’m so excited to go to BEA 2016!!

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015:
Creating this blog in early October! It’s really changed my life for the better.

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year:
School will forever be my most challenging obstacle to overcome when it comes to blogging. That, and NaNoWriMo was in November, which I have participated in every year since 2012.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog:
Why Girls in Dresses Matter, a discussion post that I loved writing!

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love:
My Review of Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman! The book was pretty good, and I thought my review of it wasn’t too shabby, either.

9. Best bookish discover:
The book blogging community! Almost everyone here is so welcoming and I’ve met incredible people that I consider really close friends. I love the family feeling the blogging community has, and I’m so happy to be a part of it now 🙂

10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?:
My only challenge was my goodreads one, which I set at 50 books. Currently, I’ve read 58, and there’s still a few days left in 2015! I didn’t read a lot in the beginning of the year (when my reading slump was) but these past few months have really made me rediscover my love of reading.

looking-ahead-books-2015-900x244
1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016:
Cress, Winter and Fairest by Marissa Meyer. I desperately need to finish this series!!

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut):
Tons and tons of sequels! The Rose and the Dagger, A Torch Against the Night, The Winner’s Kiss, The Raven King, A Court of Mist and Fury, and so many more!

3. 2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating:
I’m really, really looking forward to The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye, and also The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig.

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016:
I’m so excited/terrified for The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater! Something tells me that it will be terribly good, but also terribly heartbreaking.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016:
One goal I’m really striving to achieve in 2016 is to do a new discussion post every Sunday. I’ve been slacking these past few weeks, but I really want to try in 2016 since I love writing discussions.

6. A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:
The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry. Seriously guys, READ THIS BOOK! I don’t know how many more times I can tell you, it really is amazing and so, so worth it.

How was your year for reading? Let me know in the comments!

5 thoughts on “End of the Year Survey 2015!

  1. Sara @ freadomlibrary says:

    How is it possible that you just started your blog in October?! I honestly swore you were a seasoned pro. I loved your discussion about Girls in Dresses and did you hear that fierce reads is releasing the dress cover in hardcover and the new ones only in paperback?

    Like

Leave a Reply

