Best Books of 2015

top-10-best-reads-of-2015

My first calendar year of blogging is finally coming to an end! Fiery Reads has only been around since October, but I’ve read some great books all throughout the year. I’m all about sharing my favorite books, so I’m taking part in the Top 10 of 2015 event, hosted by Two Chicks on Books! For five days, I’ll be sharing lists of my Top 10 favorite bookish things. Today’s list is all about my Top 10 Books of 2015! It was just waaaaay too hard to do only 10, so I’ve managed to trim down my list to 11. Even this was a huge challenge!

This list is in order of when I read these books (beginning of the year first, newest read book last), because I couldn’t possibly rank them in order of favorites! The pictures link to the books on goodreads, and if I’ve posted a review, it’s linked to the title.

THIS SHATTERED WORLD BY AMIE KAUFMAN AND MEAGAN SPOONER


This was actually the first book I read in 2015, and man, was it good. I loved reading about Flynn and Jubilee’s story; this was a beautiful second installment to a series that owns my heart entirely. I just recently posted my review, so click on the title and check it out!

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven


It’s no surprise this book won for best YA fiction–it’s an incredibly amazing book. It was beautifully written, and the romance between the two characters was one of the best I’ve ever read. The one downside? This book broke my heart and I’m not sure it’ll ever be the same. Just…lets not talk about the ending, alright? *sobs*

The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski


There’s been a lot of drama surrounding the last book in this series and the recent cover change, but when it comes down to it, this series is one of the best out there, and the second book was absolutely amazing. If I thought the first one was good, then this one was amazing. How many more times can Kestrel and Arin break my heart? The answer: too many.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir


This is an example of a book that lives up to its hype. AEitA was amazing and the wait for A Torch Against the Night might actually kill me. I loved this book to death, and I even got to meet the author when she was on tour!

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas


There will never be a book by Queen Sarah J. Maas that I won’t love. Throne of Glass is my favorite series of all time, and when I picked up ACOTAR, I was afraid it wouldn’t be as good. Now I can safely say that it was awesome and I should never doubt her skills again. Also, this woman knows how to write some great NA! Wowza.

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh


The full weight of this book’s amazingness didn’t hit me until I reread it about a day after I first read it. The romance between the characters is such a great slowburn kind of romance, and damn was it good. Does anyone know where I can buy a shirt that says “I LOVE KHALID”? Because that’s what I need after reading this story.

Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge


Do you know those stories that you give 4-4.5 stars to, but they still manage to wriggle into your heart and claim a spot on your favorites shelf? That’s what Crimson Bound did to me. I didn’t care for the romance between Rachelle and Armand, but the story was amazing. Also, Erec *sighs*. Why do I always love the characters that are so bad for me?

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas


Are you surprised, honestly? QoS was a brilliant edition to this series, and my spirit animal Aelin is on a roll. I’m bowing down to both Queens right now–the fictional one, and the author who wrote this glorious book!

Six of Crows by Leigh Barudgo


The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo is one of my favorites–mainly because of the Darkling, my precious summer child–and SoC is no different. The best part of this story was all of the characters and the unique parts that made them them. I have SO MANY new ships because of this book!

The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry


This was the first ARC I received for review purposes, and wow, I’ve never read a book more beautiful than this one. Emily Henry’s debut is the story that I hold closest to my heart–and it’s the first book that’s ever really resonated with me. A lot of people claim some books change their lives, but I hadn’t felt that feeling, until I read this book. It’s so incredibly amazing; look out for my review for it for the Sunday Street Team in January!

THEIR FRACTURED LIGHT BY AMIE KAUFMAN AND MEAGAN SPOONER


I think it’s only fitting that I started and ended my year with this series. Their Fractured Light was a perfect edition to the Starbound Trilogy and I couldn’t be more in love with these books. They hold such a special place in my heart and they mean so much to me, I actually cried when I finished the last book. I’m sad the series is over, but I’m more than excited to see what else Amie and Meagan have in store for us!

Those are my favorite books from 2015! If you’re interested, you can see all of my favorite books on my goodreads shelf here. Don’t forget to stop by tomorrow for day 2 of Top 10 of 2015!

giveaway

I’m hosting a giveaway on my own for an order (or a preorder!) of any book on any of my top 10 lists of 2015. At the end of 5 days, you’ll have 50 books to choose from! And this is open INTERNATIONALLY! (so long as the Book Depository ships to your country)

giveaway-button

What are your favorite books of 2015? Do you agree with any of my picks? Let me know in the comments below!

26 thoughts on “Best Books of 2015

  1. bookloverthoughts says:

    I completely agree with you about Six of Crows! So many new ships, my shipper heart is exploding ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m so excited for The Love That Split the World! There seems to be a bunch of amazing debuts coming out in 2016.

    Like

    • Alex @ Fiery Reads says:

      Couldn’t agree more about both of these books! My OTP post just went up today, and 3 of the 10 on there are from SoC lol, this surprises no one. The Love that Split the World is so so so good–I definitely recommend getting it when it comes out in January! I’m really excited for all of the books in 2016 too, I think it’ll be a spectacular book year ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mel@thedailyprophecy says:

    I like The winner’s curse, so I should get my hands on the sequels.
    I was blown away by Six of crows, holy crap, that was so good.
    The wrath and the dawn was also AMAZING and I’m completely in love with A court of thorns and roses. Crimson bound wasn’t as good as Cruel beauty if you ask me, but still a really good read and Queen of Shadows was a worthy sequel.

    Mel@thedailyprophecy

    Like

    • Alex @ Fiery Reads says:

      Yes, read the sequel to The Winner’s Curse immediately!!! I liked it better than the first book! Also I totally think all of the books in the Throne of Glass series get more epic as we go through the series lol. I love it!

      Like

  3. jacymerrill says:

    Thank you so much for this awesome list. I had just finished reading the Grisha trilogy last month, but Six of Crows is on my wish list for Christmas. I added the rest to my TBR pile ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Kailee D (@Calling_Me_Home) says:

    You’ve made me want to read the starbound trilogy so bad! I felt very similarly as you did about Crimson Bound- the romance was very meh but Erec was just such a great character and I didn’t expect him to be who he was! Have you read Rosamund Hodge’s other retelling, Cruel Beauty?

    Like

    • Alex @ Fiery Reads says:

      Yay, I’m glad, because the Starbound Trilogy is so so so good!! ๐Ÿ˜€ Erec is one of my favorite characters of the entire year, I think, just because he was so amazing! I have read Cruel Beauty, but I don’t remember any of it lol, so I’m going to reread it!

      Like

  5. Jess I. says:

    Awkward when I’ve only read one… However, I will admit that Sarah J. Maas is becoming one of my favorite authors! I seriously need to get to ACOTAR. I’m reading TLTSTW right now :).

    Like

  6. Gersolmar says:

    I loved Laia and Elias from An Ember In The Ashes… but i do also love Laia โค Keenan and Elias โคHelene it is so hard to choose ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ

    Like

  7. Zaira F says:

    Your thoughts on The Love that Split the World!!! Aaaah that makes me want to read the book even more!! I am so excited for its release date โค

    Like

  8. Alexandra @ Literary Legionnaire says:

    Seems like you had an awesome 2015 when it came to books! I loved a lot of the books you mentioned (TWATD and ATBP were in my Top 3 of 2015 and I really enjoyed ACOTAR). I still need to read the Starbound Trilogy (DNF’d These Broken Stars but want to give it another chance), the Winner’s Trilogy, and Six of Crows, but I’ve heard so many great things about all of them that I’ll try to read them ASAP. I am super excited for TLTSTW, so I’m glad it made it to your top ten ๐Ÿ™‚ Also I seriously need to catch up on the ToG series. I reread Throne of Glass and finally read Crown of Midnight in 2015, but didn’t end up finishing Heir of Fire (which I loved, but it just got pushed aside by other books) and need to read Queen of Shadows. Sorry, I’m rambling now. But awesome Top Ten!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

