Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo + GIVEAWAY!

Six of Crows
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Series: Six of Crows #1
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Pub Date: September 29, 2015
Publisher: Henry Holt and Company
Source: Bought from Amazon

Goodreads | Barnes and NobleAmazon

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Everyone has been raving about Leigh Bardugo’s newest story, and since I loved her Shadow and Bone series so much, I just had to read this one. I was really excited to read this one because I love a good heist story, plus I’m a sucker for stories with multiple POVs, if they’re done well. I think it’s safe to say that this book was absolutely amazing and lived up to all the hype.

The best thing about this story was the characters, hands down. All of them were so intricately crafted, with their own goals and motivations. I loved them all so much, but my favorite was Kaz, the thief that’s mentioned in the blurb. My heart broke for him so many times in this book; I felt emotionally drained by the time I finished the last page, both because of him and all the other characters.

This is definitely one of those books that focuses more on characters than the plot. It was a “slow burn” story in the sense that the plot starts off slower at first, and then starts to pick up as we meet more of the main characters and their backstories are revealed. The story really takes off once they’re all together and actually on the heist though. Once you’re really invested, the story starts to pick up and your heart will race as you wonder if this rag tag group will actually be able to pull off this incredible feat.

I’m going to warn you right now: this book will make you fall in love with the characters and it will inevitably break your heart in the best and worst way possible.

Awesome characters? ✔. Devastating romances? ✔. Fierce female characters who don’t need no man? ✔. Honestly, what are you waiting for? Go read this book NOW!

Rating: ★★★★★

Giveaway!!!

But WAIT! There’s more! Leigh Bardugo will be coming near me on her tour for Six of Crows later on in November. Since I loved this book so much, I’m going to giveaway a signed copy of Six of Crows! All you have to do is enter the rafflecopter below!

The giveaway is US only (sorry international friends!! I’ll do a giveaway for you soon!)

giveaway-button

Have you read Six of Crows yet? What did you think of it? Leave your own thoughts in the comments below!

23 thoughts on “Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo + GIVEAWAY!

  1. Nicole Groshek says:

    I NEED IT! I’m totally jealous you get to meet her. Six of Crows is for sure my new favorite book, and I’m loving the Grisha trilogy right now too!

    Like

  2. readwritelove28 says:

    Oh oh oh this is kinda funny! I actually read this book as an ARC (I got it at BEA) because everyone was GUSHING about it. I definitely enjoyed it, but I’m realizing now that I never even posted my review…Oops? I agree- the characters were great in SOC.

    Like

  3. jacymerrill says:

    I LOVE the Grisha trilogy…I couldn’t put any of it done. Now I am ready for Six of Crows and an autographed copy would be amazing! I’m so excited you get to meet Leigh Bardugo 🙂

    Like

  4. Ashleigh says:

    I’ve just got Shadow and Bone because I want to read the Grisha trilogy before reading Six of Crows, even though I know you don’t have to. I’m hoping I’ll love all of Leigh Bardugo’s books!

    Like

  5. anissareads says:

    Ahh, I’m SO glad you loved Six of Crows as much as I did! 😀 And awesome you get to meet her at the end of this month, I met her a week or two ago and she’s absolutely hilarious! Have a great time 😀

    Like

  6. Christina says:

    I’ll admit that I was hesitant because of the way Ruin and Rising ended, so I can’t wait to see how things work out with this book.

    Like

  7. Jeri says:

    It took me awhile to get into the book too. I like multiple POVs, but it made it hard to care about any of them until close to the end. After finishing, I can say I loved it and look forward to the next one. I intended to give my copy to my niece, but can’t part with it, so if I win I’ll be sending this copy to her! Thanks for the chance to win an autographed copy!

    Like

  8. Megan C. says:

    I can’t wait to read Six of Crows – I loved the world-building and moral ambiguity in The Grisha Trilogy! Thanks for the giveaway!

    Like

  9. KliScruggs says:

    For sure, my favorite character is Inej! Close second is Nina!! You’re totally right that the characters take priority in this book, which is just a feat especially because the plot is such a word demanding event. I love Kaz, but also sometimes he drives me crazy, haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

